Ralph Maxwell, Nolan Shaheed named USATF Male Masters of Year

Nolan Shaheed

W50 throws champion Oneithea “Neni” Lewis is the overall USATF Masters Athlete of the Year, as previously signaled, but the revelation at the Virginia Beach USATF convention is that M90 hurdler Ralph Maxwell and M60 middle-distance runner Nolan Shaheed will share co-Male Masters Athletes of the Year. It’s Nolan’s third time around for this award; he also won in 2007 and 2008. He set at least five American records in his new age group, including a 4:57.06 indoor mile and a 4:31.93 outdoor 1500. Mary Trotto, chairman of the USATF Masters T&F Awards Committee, also tells the age-group honorees, as chosen by the committee in recent weeks. Also: “The 2010 Recipient for the David Pain Distinguished Service Award is Leslie “Jim” Weed,” Mary says. “Jim is one of the founders and ongoing anchor rocks of our sport.  This year he celebrates the 30th anniversary for his ‘baby,’ the Rocky Mountain Masters Games.  He is truly a pioneer of masters track and field, taking up the work soon after David Pain.”

Ralph Maxwell, here at Sacto nationals, set several M90 world records in 2010.

Mary continued about Jim:

He is a former president of National Master’s Track and Field and was very active nationally all through his earlier years until he was dealt a great economic blow, yet during his years of recovery from that crisis he continued his work in master’s track and field. He has been president of the Denver Track and Field club for many years and currently serves as its treasurer.  He recently received the “Outstanding Leadership Award” from the Colorado Masters Track and Field Club.

The age-group winners are:
 The following is the list of athletes who have been awarded the Age Group Athlete of the Year for 2010
for the women in the 30-59 age group are (winners are listed alphabetically)

Lisa Daley
Rita Hanscom
Renee Henderson
Kay Glynn
Kathy Martin
Lisa Valle
The winners for the W60-79 are:
Kathy Bergen
Christel Donley
Audrey Lary
Flo Meiler
Phil Raschker
Carol Young
The winners for the W 80+ are
Betty Jarvis
Sumi Onodera-Leonard
Johnnye Valien
For the men M 30-59
Nick Berra
David Bickel
Richard Burns
Bill Collins
Michael Waller
Jim Wetenhall
For the men M 60-79
Charlie Allie
John Altendorf
Tyrone Brown
Edward Burke
Ray Feick
Donald Neidig
For the men M80+
Harvey Lewellen
Leland McPhie
Orville Rogers

Print Friendly

December 2, 2010

6 Responses

  1. chuckxc - December 3, 2010

    Congrats to all the winners. This is really a Who’s-Who list of American Track. Special kudos to my teammate, Nick Berra, you had a season to remember.

  2. Kim Williams - December 3, 2010

    Congratulations to the winners. They represent all that is good about masters track and field, and the T&F community.

  3. Who's your Daddy ? - December 3, 2010

    Any word on future bidders for the nationals ??

  4. Ralph Maxwell - December 5, 2010

    I’m naturally delighted to be honored as “Male Athlete of the Year”, and flattered to share the title with outstanding competitor Nolan Rasheed.

    The important thing about my happy success story is that it sends a message to everyone out there. That message is this: If a person with no background in T&F can take up the sport at 74 and eventually hold 17 concurrent World and USA Records as well as this new prestigious title, then ANYONE can do it.

  5. Mark Cleary - December 6, 2010

    Congrats to all the winners this year. Especially Nolan, Lisa, Leland and Sumi you are amazing athletes!

  6. Matt B. - December 13, 2010

    I was surprised to see Nolan does not have the indoor or outdoor WR’s for 800 Mens 55-59

Leave a Reply