masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:24 pm

Senior Masters Athlete

Last month in Lahti I witnessed a fascinating conversation between Ken Stone, Tom Hartshorne and Dr. Steve Peters, England's 55 year old sprint champion. See Ken's July 31 blog about this, and a longer article about Dr. Peters from Ken's 2007 blog.

Having just wrapped up a disappointing season running the 800, I was ready to try something new, so the day after I got back to Arizona I started training with the "Peters Method", as I understood it. It's now a month afterward, and I'm quite pleased with my results thus far. In the interest of science I am posting my results, and will update them each week for the next month or two for your entertainment.

A little background. I'm a 50 year old without prior competitive track experience who picked up masters track about 4 years ago. Since that time I've trained in a serious way to run the 800 meters, primarily, which seems to be my best race. My PRs, all set last year at age 49 are:

200 - 25.99
400 - 56.99
800 - 2:09.21

I've never raced a 100. This year, as a 50 year old my best times were:

200 - 26.90
400 - 58.84
800 - 2:14.52

Like I said, not what I'd hoped for this year.

Dr. Peters explained that his training regimen is to warm up for ten minutes, then run four 100 meter sprints of increasing intensity, with full recoveries, culminating in an all-out race-type effort. Then wait 30 minutes and run an all-out 300 or 400. His times for these reps are roughly 14.0, 13.5, 12.5, 11.5; and 36-38 for the 300. Do this three times a week - that's it! No additional aerobic exercise, weight training or plyometrics.

I have been doing something similar, except I am doing a longer warmup (afraid not too), and warming down with 800 meters. And I have been running a few road miles on off days, but not many. Here are my results for the first four and a half weeks:

Fastest 100 300
13.3 43.5