masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Sat Oct 01, 2011 4:03 pm

Master Masters Athlete

I have decided to keep an online training journal as motivation to stay on task as I make my way back to respectability.

History:
At the beginning of 2012 - I made a New Year's resolution to lose a "little bit" of weight as I found myself at 200 lbs after a wonderful Holiday period of good food, good drink, and good company. I began lifting and quickly found myself bored after about 8 weeks of training and just stopped going all together. In an effort to "get in shape" for an upcoming beach trip, I started lifting again in May - this time implementing the principles of the "Fat Burning Furnace" and Hypertrophy-Specific Training (HST) training. This plan reinvigorated my conviction as it allowed me to complete quality workouts in less than 1 hour. When I began this new effort I was at 197 lbs, after 8 weeks on the program I was down to 190 lbs without paying attention to diet and minimal cardio work (2-3 mile run/ 1-2x/wk). After week 10, I was down to 188 lbs and felt pretty strong and satisfied with my progress. I had considered getting involved in Masters Track several times in the past, but just never pulled the trigger. After hanging out on the web and reading some info on the Rocky Mountain Games, I decided what the heck - I will give it a go for real this time. With that in mind, I decided to add a some interval work to my routine (i.e. run hard for 30s, walk 60s, run 45s, walk 90s, etc) and begin to "watch" my diet (LOL). By week 12, I was down to 186 lbs and decided it was time to really pay attention to my diet and make an attempt at some sprint work on the track. Well lo and behold, the first week felt pretty good. In the second week, I was down to 183lbs and thought I was ready to take on the world....but then reality struck - I pulled my hamstring. Well at this point my training came to a halt and my bid to compete at the R