masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:26 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

I am a newbie to this. As I approach 56 (8/13), I am looking for others ways to be competitive and remain fit. I have been running (sprint work mainly) and weight training 3-5 days per week since school finished in June - I teach high school.

I have looked at the Senior games in my state - NH - but they begin on 8/19. Anyway, I am looking for training information for the 50m and 100m sprints. I think I can handle these two distances. I am not a track athlete...baseball and soccer mostly in college. Pick up hoops only. Not looking to win gold just want to be competitive and be in with the pack.

Websites or personal training information for these events would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

POP

Top Top

Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:16 am

Junior Masters Athlete

Hey Poppy, I am new too and 56 too. After 37 years I have begun to get back in shape for throwing Shot and Discus. 37 years is a long time and everyday I am reminded that I am not in College anymore. :lol: . In discus I have finally gotten to the point where I don't fall over after throws and can even stay in the ring sometimes. :oops: Most of my efforts will be aimed at getting stronger without weights, increasing balance and flexibility. You are right, it is a fun way to get in shape and live life more fully. Looking forward to learning more about training and injury protection.
Vik

Discus 1.5K 32.00M Stand throw

Top Top

Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:13 pm

Master Masters Athlete