masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Tue May 27, 2008 6:08 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

So I have a very unique and challenging training situation that I would like to get some insight into. I'm an M30 400H guy with a 56.79 masters PR. I want to run 55.XX (basically sub 56, not too picky HOW sub, just sub) and be competitive at the Master's Nationals, most likely the 2009 and subsequent editions. Why not 2008 you ask? Well there is where the "challenging" part comes in. I'm a Navy pilot and upcoming deployment and pre-deployment training (Navy kind, not the fun kind) schedules will likely preclude a serious attempt at the 2008 meet. The challenge for me is how to train seriously when I am confined to a small ship for basically 7 months. The particulars of my facilities: treadmill that goes up to 75 second per 400 pace, rowing machines, stationary bikes, a reasonably well equipped weight room and the potential to have a running path around the ship, but the capability to run fast is limited. That's about it. I'm confident that when I get back from deployment I'll be able to pick up where I left off with respect to track work but I would like to be making progress, however slow, while deployed. Well, perhaps progress is asking a lot, but at least not regressing at too high a rate! So any ideas? I figure a message board dedicated to masters athletes has to be full of people that are willing to take a crack at a challenge! Thanks in advance, good luck to everyone in Spokane.

Top Top

Tue May 27, 2008 10:19 pm

Master Masters Athlete

I think just maintaining general fitness is your best course. Don't worry about doing anything specific for your event, just maintain. Jog around wherever you can, do some basic weightlifting, etc. My 2 centimos.

M45 PRs: 100: 12.04, 400: 54.83, 800: 2:23.5, 5K: 19:27

Top Top

Wed May 28, 2008 1:08 am

Master Masters Athlete