masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:56 pm

Master Masters Athlete

So I'm new to this as I've stated several times. I hear the sport is "dying" and although most meets I attended weren't bursting at the seams with participants, I'm curious where the sport is really at for those of you who have been around it for awhile.

Is it in fact "dying"?

Does it ebb and flow and were just at a slow time (or are we really not at a slow time)?

How much can and should be attributed to USATF not seeing Masters Track and Field as a priority?

Where are we headed from here? Will it dry up for us youngsters right along with Social Security or will we figure out a way to make Masters Track & Field thrive?

I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Top Top

Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:09 am

Master Masters Athlete

Maybe it is a US-issue, but in my country it is not dying at al. The contrary!

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:53 am

Journeyman Masters Athlete

How much can and should be attributed to USATF not seeing Masters Track and Field as a priority?

That's the $64,000 question because it's one we, at least theoretically, have control over.

Top Top

Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:11 am

Junior Masters Athlete

I can't speak for the US as a whole....but......the California Firefighter Olympics used to have a Track and Field meet to rival any I've ever seen. It deteriorated to the point of being taken off the event list...nobody wanted to run anymore...or at least very few did.
I find this incredibly sad.

Top Top

Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:46 pm

This is an excellent point. I think the thought has to be to convince older runners to give it a try, We all see how many masters road racers they are, yet so few "cross over" to do track. See the following example