masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Sun Sep 02, 2012 2:06 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

Hi All,

Woke up one morning at the age of 53 and discovered I was born to sprint! I've never run before in my life & I gotta say I LOVE doing this!

I've been training on my own for a few months on 100m, 200m & 400m- getting back into cardio-vascular shape, doing sprint drills, plyometrics, weight-training, etc. & I'M HAVING A BLAST!!!! My times are slow but they are improving.

My problem is I can't find anyone or any clubs around here (Berkeley, CA) for middle-aged women who sprint. I've combed the internet and can only find distance runners my age. Am I just a very rare breed?

Any tips on where to find other older women sprinters and coaches who train the likes of us? I know I can only go so far on my own & I really want to take this as far as I can.

Thanks so much for any tip or clues!
Jeannette

Top Top

Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:35 am

Senior Masters Athlete

Hi and Welcome to Masters!!

I live in NJ so can't really help other than suggest that if you are on facebook there are several Master's groups that may be able to help you.

My only advice is to not do to much too soon or you may end up watching more meets than you run in.

Top Top

Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:30 am

Junior Masters Athlete

Thanks so much for the tip Renee. I'll check facebook & see who's my area.

And as far as taking it easy, my bod is definitely making sure I do that! I think this is the first time in my life I've realized I'm just not as young as I used to be. :wink:

It's all good, though!
Jeannette

Top Top

Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:28 pm

Master Masters Athlete