masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:28 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

In the outdoor pentathlon, are the javelin and the discus used the same ones that are used in high school? Just want to start some planning and training and need to know which ones to practice with.

Top Top

Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:55 pm

Master Masters Athlete

Implements depend on your age group.

Check out the official specs here:
http://www.world-masters-athletics.org/ ... /app_a.pdf

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:31 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

thanks Ken...now for the question that shows I'm a real novice...do competitors have to bring their own javelin and discus to events like the Master's Outdoor Championship?

Top Top

Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:36 pm

Master Masters Athlete

Many meets supply extra implements, but I'm not sure about the nationals. In fact, you'll find that many masters will share extra implements with newbies.

If you go shopping for javs and discs, please give Gill Athletics a shot at http://www.gillathletics.com/ -- since they help sponsor this site!

Also, Jeff Watry of Gill Athletics is a masters deca dude, and you want to reward his employer for supporting masters track.

Best of luck, champ.

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:38 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

I appreciate all the help you have given me with your replies...progress has been good. I may even attempt the indoor pentathlon in Boston in March. (I have to see how the hurdle lesson go, though.) What are the order of events for the indoor pentathlon?

Top Top

Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:26 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

hurdles, lj, sp, hj, 1000

Top Top

Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:43 pm

Junior Masters Athlete