masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:46 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

I use to run track in high school, I was a pretty good 400-200 meter runner, but 16years and 34 pounds later I want to run again ! I started my comeback by trying to lose weight because I know every pound counts- Does anybody have any inspiratinal stories they can share ? I really want to give myself the best oppurtunity to compete , and at my current weight I don't think I'll fair well on the track ! :lol:

Top Top

Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:59 am

Master Masters Athlete

Hi --what a great decision you've made to get back in shape and compete again. Losing weight will definitely help...it means that you have that much less of a load to pull around the track! I still struggle with my weight. It seems that at my age (46) it takes more and more effort just to maintain and I know it will only get worse! I started training for masters track the last few months of 2005. I was constantly sore, exhausted, and on the verge of quitting the first month. I would come home after evening practice too tired to eat dinner. 6 weeks later I was 10 lbs lighter and the workouts began to get easier. :D

I think my advice would be to realize that it WILL get easier over time, but the first 4 to 6 months are very hard. You've been out of shape for almost 16 years so it will take time to get back into shape. Realize that you need lots of time for conditioning and training and don't push it. Be thankful for each small improvement you make and look forward to getting better and better. Don't lose your enthusiasm, even when your body is screaming at you! Best wishes for your comeback.

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Tue Jan 30, 2007 10:19 pm

Master Masters Athlete

Even those lucky enought to be skinny-for-life (like me) find training for a masters comeback to be slow and steady. I like to use this expression: "getting in shape to get into shape."

That's what worked for me.