masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:34 am

Master Masters Athlete

This is my first year of training for masters track and need some advice on what I should be doing right now to prepare for the 100, 200 and 400 events. I have read that during the winter months sprinters should do mostly base building. Should I be doing long runs of 2 - 4 miles or shorter runs of 600 to 800 meters, or both? I have also read that I should be doing weight trianing, hill runs and plyometrics during this time.

Can some of you veterans help me out?

Thanks,

Tony

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:16 pm

Master Masters Athlete

Hi tonyb --I can only speak from what our coach recommends, but during our off season we do longer intervals such as 400-600, always concentrating on form. We also X train with plyos on the grass. He generally advises to avoid long runs because he says they shorten our stride length.

Top Top
  Profile WWW

Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:16 am

Journeyman Masters Athlete

Liz, With all due respect to your coach, I don't think there's any evidence for long runs shortening the stride. There is evidence that endurance training can be detrimental to strength training so perhaps that's where he's coming from. I'm currently reading Earl Fee's book on training. (It's on Amazon). he has a section on base building in the fall that's well done--as is the entire book as far as I can tell. It's a real treat to read the wisdom of a man with 40 world records!

Top Top

Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:25 am

Master Masters Athlete