masterstrack.com

The No. 1 site for masters track discussions

Login | Register

Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:51 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

I've been running the 100 and 200m dash for about 10 years for the last 2 years been trying to extend my training to include the 400m but I'm having recurring issues with my left calf muscle. I think I tore it about 4 years ago judging by the way it felt at the time. I can train for the shorter dashes ok but when I do some 400's I feel some tightness in that same calf. I do a bunch of calf stretches before and during a session and sometimes things go ok. Today however I felt the slightest strain so I stopped, and this has happened a couple of times before. I'm hoping to find out if there's anymore I can do to avoid strain. Would working on building my calves help/hurt/ or not make much of a difference? One other thing is- my right knee has a bunch of things wrong with it ( torn acl, miniscus) which makes my left leg quite a bit stronger in comparison. I was thinking that maybe the strength difference may be part of the problem. Any ideas anyone?

Top Top

Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:14 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

Well, It's been a little over a month and I've been trying to build my calves. Can still feel slight strain. Guess I'll have to give up on the 400 for a bit and see how things turn out.

Top Top

Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:18 pm

Junior Masters Athlete

CRS,